COMMUNIQUÉ

OF THE FIRST MEETING OF MINISTERS IN CHARGE OF ECONOMY OF THE COOPERATION COUNCIL OF TURKIC SPEAKING STATES

Minister of Economic Development of the Republic of Azerbaijan H.E. Shahin MUSTAFAYEV, Minister of Economic Development and Trade of the Republic of Kazakhstan H.E. Kairat KELIMBETOV, Deputy Minister of Economic Regulation of Kyrgyz Republic H.E. Sanzhar MUKANBETOV and Minister of Development of the Republic of Turkey H.E. Cevdet YILMAZ met in Astana on October 13, 2011 and have agreed to establish four working groups to conduct studies and prepare proposals in the following areas in order to enhance economic cooperation and trade amongst Turkic States as instructed by the Heads of State in the 2010 Istanbul Turkic Summit Declaration and in accordance with the provisions of the Nakhchivan Agreement which founded the Turkic Council:

1) Improving the investment climate:

- Means and ways to facilitate mutual investment;
- Facilitating financial transactions and banking activities;
- Sharing information amongst national Investment Promotion Agencies.

2) Measures for diversification of economy:

- Determining priority sectors
 - Agriculture, processing industry, tourism, health, education, construction, ecology, etc.;
- Rationalization of the energy sector
 - Effective use of hydroelectric potential;
 - Developing renewable resources through joint expertise.

3) Development of transportation:

- Completion of transportation projects conducted under TRACECA and ECO;
- Establishment of high-speed and high-capacity transport-logistic corridors, as well as using of opportunities of Baku-Tbilisi-Kars railway project;
- Creation of Transportation Corridors Administration of Turkic States.

4) Entrepreneurship as the basis of economic relations:

- Promotion of public-private partnership projects;

- Development of small and medium-sized entrepreneurships and competitiveness;
- Building up contacts amongst business associations based on best practices;
- Forming a Joint Business Data Exchange Base.

Ministers have designated the above mentioned Working Groups to consist of representatives of Government and Private Sector from each Member State as well as those of the Turkic Council Secretariat to chair the meetings. The parties will appoint representatives to each Working Group not later than January 1, 2012. On voluntary basis, a Member State may assume the coordinator role for a particular Working Group.

They have also agreed to convene a mid-term review conference in the second half of 2012, where the Working Groups will present progress reports to Ministers before the Bishkek Summit.

Ministers agreed to bring this Communiqué to the attention of their Heads of States at the 1st Summit of the Turkic Council to be held in Almaty on October 21, 2011.

Signed on October 13, 2011 in Astana in English.

Minister of Economic Development of the Republic of Azerbaijan

Shahin MUSTAFAYEV

Minister of Economic Development and Trade of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Kairat KELIMBETOV

Deputy Minister of Economic Regulation of Kyrgyz Republic

Sanzhar MUKANBETOV

Minister of Development of the Republic of Turkey

Cevdet YILMAZ