Organization of Turkic States

Organization of Turkic States (then called the Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States - Turkic Council) was established in 2009 as an intergovernmental organization, with the overarching aim of promoting comprehensive cooperation among Turkic States. Its four founding member states are Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Türkiye. During the 7thSummit held in Baku in October 2019, Uzbekistan joined as a full member. Hungary received observer status at the Organization during its 6th Summit in Cholpon-Ata, Kyrgyz Republic in September 2018. In the 8th Summit held in November 2021, Turkmenistan and in November 2022, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus joined as an Observer Members to the Organization.

Organization is committed to the purpose and principles of the Charter of the United Nations (UN) and other universally recognized principles and norms of international law, including sovereign equality, territorial integrity and inviolability of internationally recognized borders of states, as well as the maintenance of international peace, security and development of good-neighbourly and friendly relations.

Organization is dedicated to strengthening peace and stability, promoting wide-ranging cooperation and disclosing the potential for common development among its member states. Although it brings together a particular group of countries, the organization does not take an exclusive approach. On the contrary, by promoting deeper relations and solidarity amongst Turkic speaking countries, it aims to serve as a new regional instrument for advancing international cooperation in Eurasian continent, particularly in Central Asia and Caucasus.

Constructed on four main pillars of common history, common language, common identity and common culture, the Turkic Council does not limit itself to the confines of these commonalities. Rather, it aims to broaden the existing bilateral cooperation areas such as economy, science, education, transportation, customs, tourism and other various fields among the Member States into multilateral cooperation for the benefit of the region.

At the same time, the Organization does not limit itself within the frames of its Member States and willingly cooperates with its neighbouring states in order to ensure peace and stability in its region particularly in the fields such as transport, customs and tourism.

The principal organs of the Organization are the Council of Heads of State, the Council of Foreign Ministers, the Council of Elders, the Senior Officials Committee and the Secretariat. The activities of the organization are also supported by its related and affiliated organizations such as the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic Speaking Countries (TURKPA), the International Organization of Turkic Culture (TURKSOY), the Intenrational Turkic Academy, the Turkic Culture and Heritage Foundation, the Turkic Business Council,  the Turkic University Union and the Turkic Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Since 2011, the Organization convenes its annual summits under certain topics, where the Heads of State of the Member States evaluate the past period and set goals for the next year.